I Think I’ll Go to Boston… Er, I Think I’ll Go Back

Standard

I just looked at the calendar and realized it’s been six months since I went to Boston. It certainly feels like I was just there. Something remarkable happened when I went to Boston and came back. It’s known at my church as catching the “Boston Bug”.

I love that my church has such an emphasis on missions. Not a “go once and done” attitude, but a real willingness to invest in the lives and the communities of where they go.

My singles ministry goes to Boston four times a year in support of Hope Fellowship Church in Cambridge, MA. Each trip serves a different, yet still similar purpose. The trip I went on in April was centered around The Boston Marathon- One of the biggest sporting events in the world. To serve a multi-national crowd was exciting and nerve-wracking. While I did not personally see whether or not my work made a difference in the lives of Bostonians or her visitors, the trip impacted me. A stirring in my soul to go back, and keep working there, and as I’m writing this post, a conviction to do work here as well.

One of the most impactful things we did in Boston was serve the homeless a hot dinner at Hope Fellowship. I have to admit that I have had some less than favorable interactions with some homeless people, and have had a tendency to lean towards a negative perception of them. I even started out the night in the kitchen, because of those past experiences. As the night went on, I left meandered from the comfort zone of the kitchen and began to speak to our guests. I heard all sorts of stories. Loss, addiction, pain, job problems, and I was able to relate with one man who had trouble finding a job. I had a great family to help me out and encourage me, which is something that young man did not until he walked into the church doors. One man, Steve and a few of us engaged in a conversation about God, the Bible, and what Christ did for us. When our guests left for the evening, we all shared something that we learned that night, and we were all grateful that Hope gave us that opportunity to serve. None of us expected to see any of our guests again, but a few nights later, we were riding the T heading back from dinner when we Steve get on the train. The look on Steve’s face of surprise when we all shouted a greeting to him will stay with me forever. It was a reaction from being so used to being invisible, that he had no idea that anyone would ever recognize him, let alone say hello. The look on the faces of the other patrons riding the T were telling of just how often we make the homeless out to be invisible.

I cannot wait to go back to Boston and serve alongside Hope. In the meantime, I pray The Lord will guide me to where I can serve here at home.

Leave a comment